The Fair

He found his love at the fair.

Pass the Ferris wheel he was supposed to ride, he saw her at the middle of the fair commotion. Everyone was just passing by her beauty, while he marveled at her mere presence. He stared at her brown curly hair, her pretty purple dress and of course, her pink curved lips that showed her big but soft smile. He then, in return, smiled back. Even though the little boy gave her a long stare, she did not mind the obvious admiration.

He remembered how everyone had told him that people would not meet the one they would want to spend their lives with at such a young age. But at the age of 6, he knew she was the girl for him. He pictured himself at the fair beside the young lady and it didn’t bother him at all. But of course he did not know about the girl. He could only wish she felt the same.

Unfortunately, he awoke from his fantasies when he heard his mom calling out for him to go home with her. He didn’t want to leave, but then he needed to. Nevertheless before he left, he promised that he would come back soon. And he made her promise that she would be there.

The time he was free from school the next day, he went straight to the fair. He knew that if the girl weren’t there, it meant that she did not feel the same for him. But as he approached the place where he first saw her, he suddenly stopped from walking. He was struck by her beauty all over again. She was once more, sitting there where she was before, with her ever perfect smile. He then ran to her and gave her his big wide smile.

 

Every Friday after class, he would go to the fair and spend time with the young girl. She would always be still, not minding how long he would simply gaze upon her loveliness. They would not do anything there. They would only smile at each other the whole time, sitting perfectly still.

 

But after a while, the visits that he gave often became rare. News of accidents had been spread about the fair and the mom forbade the young boy to go there. As much as he wanted to see her again, he had no choice but to follow the orders.

 

He still fantasized about the young lady whom he recognized as the girl he wanted to grow old with.

He thought that the girl was probably mad at him for his absence after promising he would visit every time. He wondered if he missed her as well.

 

But a long while had passed, and it was inevitable to grow old of such dreams. He then accepted that his magical world of finding his true love at the fair, was in fact, just a mere fantasy of a young boy about true love.

 

 

_____________________________________

 

The fair from my childhood was very old now. It didn’t look as inviting as it was ten years ago. As how I saw it, it now looks like a deserted playground.

 

But my little boy wanted to know where my favorite place on Earth was, so I brought him here. Who knows? Maybe he might find something good in this dumpsite of my memories.

 

We circled along the place where I usually spent my childhood. Then I let him walk around himself. I knew he wanted to do so since he wanted to be treated like a big man, as how he had put it to his mom and me. But I told him not to ride anything, because the fair was known to be dangerous. I then had a flashback of how my mom had emphasized to me as a little kid never to return here.

 

He said yes, and then ran away from me getting all excited of the ancient rides that made me happy so long ago.

 

I remembered the reason why I enjoyed the fair so much. It was because of this statue of a young lady. I could not remember what she looked like, but all I remember was she was beautiful.

 

As I was about to approach the vintage Ferris wheel, I sighed and smiled at the same time.

 

My memory was proven right – she was beautiful, even up to the present. ‘After so long, you are still here’, I thought to myself. I was glad she kept her side of the promise even through the time that had long passed; she was still here.

 

Staring up at the statue of the little girl, I saw my son with the same smile I had twenty years ago.

 

The Fair

Leave a Reply

