So Close

I couldn’t find him anywhere. I wish I could see him, even just a glance tonight – only to realize he was right in front of me. He took me by the hand and led me straight to the middle of everyone. He rested my hands over his shoulder as he wrapped his arms around me. I hope he didn’t feel me stiffen. I asked myself, “Is this for real?”

I loved how he whispered to me –

“You’re in my arms, and all the world is calm..”

What perfect timing that it had to be my favorite song. I don’t know if he remembered. I had to restrain myself and hide my smile from him.

“You never asked me to dance before,” I told him.

“But this is your favorite song.”

We continued to dance in silence, letting the music drown us in the moment.

I wish we could have stayed like that.

He leaned towards me and I flustered. I hope he didn’t notice. He whispered to my ear, “You know how I wish I could always be with you.”

It was a sudden twist of feelings for me. How could something so enchanting suddenly turn horrifying in a matter of minutes?

I looked at him, begging for him to look into my eyes and tell me he wouldn’t leave me. But the expression on his face didn’t change at all.

The song ended, and I still couldn’t find the words to say back.

“Is this it?” I finally managed to say.

But he didn’t answer.

I took my hands off from him, and slowly walked away.

I restrained myself from looking back to the man I love the most. I know within myself that I can never have him if he doesn’t want to stay.

I continued walking until I stood right in front of her. I blocked her view of everything. She looked so surprised as I grabbed her hand and led her to the middle of the room. I guided her hands on my shoulders and my hands slowly found its way around her waist. My heart beat fast when we started to sway.

I whispered in her ear the first line of the song,

“You’re in my arms, and all the world is calm..”

My heart even beat faster when she rested her head on my chest.

I couldn’t see her, but I knew she smiled.

“You never asked me to dance before,” she said.

I held her closer and whispered, “But this is your favorite song.”

We continued to dance in silence, letting the music drown us in the moment.

Slowly, I leaned closer and whispered, “You know how I wish I could always be with you.”

She dropped her hands and looked up at me. I didn’t let go of her – I didn’t want to.

The song suddenly ended.

“Is this it?” Her innocent eyes said she didn’t want me to leave.

She took my hands off from her, and slowly walked away.

I could do nothing but to watch her leave me, knowing it was the right thing to do.

Let her leave me before I do.

So Close

Leave a Reply

